Mitosis is the process by which eukaryotic cells divide and multiply. The process consists of four phases: prophase, metaphase, anaphase and telophase, which occur in that order. Mitosis begins when a cell’s DNA condenses into chromosomes in the stage known as early prophase. Small, cylindrical structures called centrioles migrate to opposite poles of the cell during late prophase and a network of microtubules known as the spindle apparatus assembles between them. The centrioles themselves are composed of microtubules, which are specialized protein filaments. During the stage called metaphase, the nuclear membrane of the cell dissolves and the chromosomes align in a single plane known as the metaphase plate. During anaphase, paired chromosomes, or sister chromatids, separate and move to opposite poles of the cell. Telophase follows, and results in the formation of two identical daughter cells.

Question 1: Genetic variations among different organisms arise due to the ________ in DNA.
  1. transcription
  2. translation
  3. mutations
  4. cross-contamination

Answer 1

Answer - (c) mutations

Question 2: How many daughter cells are formed if a eukaryotic cell undergoes mitosis?
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Answer 2

Answer - (b) 2

Question 3: What is the order of the four phases in mitosis?
  1. Telophase, Metaphase, Anaphase, Prophase
  2. Metaphase, Anaphase, Prophase, Telophase
  3. Prophase, Anaphase, Metaphase, Telophase
  4. Prophase, Metaphase, Anaphase, Telophase

Answer 3

Answer - (d) Prophase, Metaphase, Anaphase, Telophase